Khush has been a total challenge to me since the last year. Last week, I had a chance to talk to him.
Khush had decided not to participate in a class that my friend was delivering. Instead, he had chosen to read a book. I can’t exactly remember which one but I want to. I will ask him the next time I see him.
“Why are you not participating in the class?” I asked him.
“Nobody really wants me in their team. And I don’t want to work anyways.” He went back to his book.
“Oh..okay..”, “So what do you do generally, like, in weekends?” I disturbed him once again. Keep in mind that we are inside a class and my friend is trying to get a bunch of eighth graders to focus on a task.
Khush: “Uhh, I generally read.”
Me: “Oh, who are your favorite writers?”
Khush: “Robin Sharma (and a couple of other names I don’t actually remember).”
Me: “Oh, I think I have heard of him. Which books by him do you like?”
Khush: “The monk who sold his Ferrari.”
Me: “Oh wow. I was not expecting that. It is very unlikely that it would be your favorite book, you know. Based on my normal perception of you. I often feel like you’re bullying your friends. I see you struggle with teamwork. I also see other teachers confronting you about it.”
Khush: (shrugs a little) “Well..”
Me: “How does it make you feel?”
Khush: “I think I have to improve in that bit. I have to improve my behavior.”
Me: “No, but that is not what I asked. How do these comments make you feel? Do your parents talk to you about it?”
Khush: “Not really.”
Me: “Is there someone you talk to frequently when you are home?”
Khush: “Yeah, my grandfather.”

I don’t actually remember much of what we talked about after that.

This week, before my class in his section, I went up to him, and told him, “Hi Khush, I have been thinking about you.”
He let out a shy smile.


Leave a comment